Ten days around midwinter

by Finnur Karlsson

Ten days around midwinter was commissioned by Listenpony, and first performed at Listenpony #13, February 2017, by Albion Quartet.

Finnur writes:
Ten Days Around Midwinter was written in Copenhagen from the 16th to the 26th of December 2016. The piece is structured like a personal journal, where I wrote exactly 30 seconds each day, resulting in a 5 minute piece. The beginning of each day is marked with a musical signal based on the roman numerals, underlining the predetermined diary-like structure of the piece. Each day I incorporated things that were on my mind at the moment, ranging from simple musical ideas to masked quotations to music that I had performed during the day.

Ten Days Around Midwinter has a sister piece that was written with the same method in April 2017. The piece is called Dendrochronology and was written for Esbjerg Ensemble.

Finnur Karlsson

_Finnur Karlsson_ is an Icelandic composer of chamber, orchestral and vocal music based in Copenhagen.

Albion Quartet

Formed in 2016, the Albion Quartet unites four outstanding young string players, brought together by a shared belief in the visceral power of the string quartet.