Ensemble WOW + Tor Cesay

19:00 2 Mar 2015, The Rag Factory, Heneage Street, off Brick Lane, E1 5LJ

The results of our international call for scores, and an exploration of music’s ability to engage with current events.

programme to include music by tansy DAVIES, ruth CRAWFORD SEEGER, meredith MONK poul RUDERS, olivier MESSIAEN, aphex TWIN

+ 3 new pieces by our resident composers
freya WALEY-COHEN, william MARSEY, josephine STEPHENSON

+ 3 pieces from the winners of our call for scores
hovik SARDARYAN, jason BAHR, louis JOHNSON

+ an acoustic set from rapper tor CESAY

Ensemble WOW are:
christina MCMASTER - piano
katie SLATER - mezzo soprano
gabriella SWALLOW - cello
eleanor TINLIN - oboe

With thanks to IdeasTap and Sound and Music for their support with this concert.

  1. Ruth Crawford Seeger Preludes Nos 1 and 5
  2. Louis Johnson A Meditation on Fear
  3. Freya Waley-Cohen Little Poisonous Snakes world prem
  4. Meredith Monk Ellis Island
  5. Josephine Stephenson voilence-silence-voice world prem
  6. Paul Ruders 3 Letters from an Unknown Soldier
  7. Messiaen Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus
  8. Tansy Davies Destroying Beauty
  9. Hovik Sardaryan Madrigal prem
  10. William Marsey Crisis Poem world prem
  • Rebecca Hardwick, soprano
  • Christina McMaster, Piano
  • Katie Slater, soprano
  • Gabi Swallow, cello
  • Eleanor Tinlin, oboe

© Listenpony Ltd, 2016. Registered charity no 1162328. Company no 09404938. // Site by William Marsey